VEGETABLES FROM ALL OVER THE WORLD

Market in Thailande
Market in Thailande
© Barbaroux

French market
French market
© Roche/Agropolis-Museum

 
 


 

What makes a vegetable ? The answer is not easy. Vegetables may be identified either according to their botanical characteristics, or according to their edible part. The edible part may be the fruit (tomato), the inflorescence (cauliflower), the buds ( Brussels sprout), the leaves (salad), the stalks (silver beet), the stems (asparagus), the root (carrot), the tuber (potato), the bulb (onion).

The vegetables of the world are extremely diverse. Overall, the production of tomato is the most important, followed by cabbage and onion. The vegetables, initially collected, were grown very early, as in the hanging gardens to Babylon for instance.

The diversity of cultivated vegetables has increased in the course of history. In 17 th century France, the so-called “king’s kitchen garden” somehow expressed a diversity which never ceased to increase up to our days.

Quite apart from having diversified, vegetables have also been considerably improved. There is a great deal of difference between the initial tomatoes (about the size of a cherry) and the ones we eat today.

Thanks to the selection and hybridization processes, to in vitro cultures, and to genetic engineering, a lot of improvement has been made.

TOUS LES LÉGUMES DU MONDE

Marché en Thaïlande
Marché en Thaïlande
© Barbaroux

Marché à Montpellier
Marché en France
© Roche/Agropolis-Museum


 
 


 

Qu'est-ce qu'un légume ? La réponse n'est pas simple. Les légumes peuvent être identifiés soit par les caractères botaniques, soit par la partie consommée de la plante. La partie consommée peut être le fruit (tomate), les inflorescences (chou-fleur), les bourgeons (chou de Bruxelles), les feuilles (salade), les côtes (cardons, blettes), la tige (asperge), la racine (carotte), les tubercules (pommes de terre), les bulbes (oignons).

Grande est la diversité des légumes cultivés dans le monde. La production de tomates est la plus importante, avant celle des choux et des oignons. Les légumes, d'abord cueillis, furent très tôt cultivés, comme dans les jardins suspendus de Babylone.

La diversité des légumes cultivés s'est enrichie au cours de l'histoire. En France, le "potager du roi" était l'expression de cette diversité au XVIIe siècle. Celle-ci n'a cessé de croître jusqu'à nos jours.

Diversifiés, les légumes furent considérablement améliorés. Il y a une grande différence entre les premières tomates (grosses comme des cerises) et celles que nous consommons aujourd'hui.

De la sélection et de l'hybridation aux cultures in vitro et à l'ingénierie génétique, de grands progrès ont été accomplis.