Pre-agricultural times - 3 million years - 10.000 years

 
Grilled or roasted on the flames Grilled or roasted
on the flames

Cooking on hot stones
Cooking on
hot stones

Boiling in a pot where hot stones are thrown into
Boiling in a pot
where hot stones
are thrown into

Cooking in a fireproof pot
Cooking in
a fireproof pot

© Agropolis-Museum

The emergence of cooked food 

Food products can be eaten in three forms:  raw, cooked (def.), or fermented (e.g., sauer kraut). While raw food is natural, the cooked food is referred to as cultural (cf : Levi-Strauss). But there are several ways of cooking...

A very important step forward was made when man "was no longer satisfied with roasted or grilled food, cooked in the dry heat of flames, so he invented the cuisine prepared with moist heat. This moist cooking allows more diversity of dishes and flavors as well as a greater possibility of mixing foods in the same meal." (cf : J. Barrau).

Soups, roasted cereals, porridges, and pancakes (thick cooked porridges) are the first forms of plant-based food. They are still in use today, differing somewhat in content and preparation.

Cuisine (def.) is much older than agriculture: men cooked their wild foods before cooking agricultural food products.  In Neolithic times (def.) the culinary revolution preceded the agricultural revolution.
 
 
 

 


HomepageAgropolis-Museum | History of food & agriculture | Pre-agricultural times | Next

l'âge pré-agricole - 3 millions d'années - 10.000 ans (environ)

Grillage et rôtissage à la flamme sèche Grillage et rôtissage
à la flamme sèche


Cuisson sur des pierres échauffées
Cuisson sur des
pierres échauffées


Cuisson dans un récipient rempli d'eau où sont jetées des pierres chaudes
Cuisson dans un récipient rempli d'eau où sont jetées des pierres chaudes


Cuisson dans un récipient allant au feu
Cuisson dans un récipient allant au feu


Clichés Agropolis-Museum
© Agropolis-Museum

Avènement de l'aliment cuit
(Feu = Foyer = Cuisson = Cuisine)

Les aliments peuvent être consommés de trois façons : crus, cuits (déf.), fermentés (ex. : choucroute). Le cru est " naturel ", le cuit est " culturel " (C. Lévi-Strauss). Le fermenté peut être naturel ou culturel. Il y a plusieurs façons de cuire...

Une étape importante fut franchie, quand les hommes " ne se contentèrent plus de griller ou de rôtir leurs aliments à la chaleur sèche des flammes, et qu'ils inventèrent la cuisine à la chaleur humide. Elle permet une diversification accrue des mets et des saveurs ainsi qu'une possibilité accrue de mélanges d'aliments dans une même cuisine " (J. Barrau).

Soupes, céréales grillées, bouillies, galettes (bouillie dense cuite) constituent les premières formes culinaires végétales, consommées encore de nos jours, se différenciant dans leurs contenus et leurs préparations.

La cuisine (déf.) est beaucoup plus ancienne que l'agriculture : les hommes cuisinèrent les aliments sauvages avant de cuisiner les aliments agricoles. La révolution culinaire a précédé la révolution agricole du Néolithique (déf.).


AccueilAgropolis-Museum | La Fresque Historique | L'âge pré-agricole | Suite